Professional Development Committee

This committee organizes and implements professional development programs for college admission (2 and 4 year), high school counseling, and independent counseling professionals as well as professionals in community based organizations that help students on their path to further their educational goals. The four programs offered each year help attendees with personal career development, professional education and growth from shared expertise and best practices, as well as networking with peers. The committee works in concert and consultation with the MACAC President and Board. 

Chair Members

Ben DuFault, Augsburg University
Norma Gutierrez, Saint Thomas Academy


Molly McAlister, St. Cloud Technical and Community College
Mai Chue Moua, Hamline University
Jeff Polski, University of MN - Rochester
John Peterson, University of Northern Iowa
Christine Barnhouse, University of St. Thomas
Erik Aschenbeck, CSB/SJU
Morgan Jensen, University of St. Thomas
Jenna Houser, Anoka Ramsey Community College
Haley Hollern, University of Iowa
Garth Robertson, MACAC Board Liaison - Independent Counselor
Darren Coulliard, MACAC Board Liaison - Century High School


  • Admission Counselor Institute – for new college admission representatives
  • Fall Forum – College Admission professionals and High School Counselors
  • Spring Conference – College Admission professionals and High School Counselors 
Alternating every other year between a MACAC conference and a multi-state conference with Iowa, Wisconsin and North & South Dakota ACAC’s.


Meetings will be held in-person every month with a conference call-in option (call-in instructions will be emailed out prior to meetings). Our meeting dates and locations are as follows:

Location: Augsburg University at 1:30 PM (unless otherwise noted)
September 10
October 8
November 5 (at St. Thomas Academy)
December 10
January 14
February 11
March 10
April 14
May 12
June 9

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software